Legal Junkies Forums

#1 Community for Legal Questions and Answers

Go Back   Legal Junkies Forums > OTHER LEGAL ISSUES > Money Frauds and Scams

Register FAQ Tags Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Layout

Notices

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2010, 07:01 AM   #1
Unregistered

Heald College: Am I being scamed by them?

Am I being scamed by them, and if so what can I do about it.

They charge almost $5000 a quarter for 4 classes and if you do those classes onlie it's the $5000 + $175 per online class

The teachers don't teach us anything, they just sign us off saying we did the activity when we did not.
I know most kids would love that, but I'm studying to be a medical assistant and that dosen't seem verry safe or ethical.

There is a whole lot more but, whatever, I just want to know if I am being scamed, and if so what can I do about it.

Did you find this post helpful? Yes | No
Old 10-22-2010, 12:59 PM   #2
Unregistered

Default Re: Heald College: Am I being scamed by them?

I wouldn't say that most are outright scams, and not familiar with Heald, but most of these types of places are kind of businesses first and schools second. They exist primarily to funnel government student assistance and loan money to them and many aren't great as far as education and on the back end actual job placement. Which is why they've been the subject of scrutiny and Federal investigations lately. Although I suppose that you could make the same generic argument for many publicly operated schools as well. Not as much of a clear profit motive in the latter case though.