Legal Junkies Forums

#1 Community for Legal Questions and Answers

Go Back   Legal Junkies Forums > REAL ESTATE and PROPERTY LAW > Landlord vs Tenant Issues

Register FAQ Tags Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Layout

Notices

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2013, 02:51 PM   #1
SteelFangs

Default Ex-Landlord Security Deposit Dispute in Terre Haute

I am a former college student and rented a small one bedroom apartment in Terre Haute with my dog (pit bull if it matters) and had a friend living there for one semester - August - December. This was my first apartment, I only had savings from a previous job and only worked part time so I needed a cosigner, my mother, but she only cosigned and does not intend to anything else.

I rented this apartment starting from May 1st 2012 - April 30th 2013. I kept very good care of the apartment (even though it was very old and sort of run-down with outdated appliances and interior). I moved out at the end of April and asked when I would receive my deposit back - she said 45 days (the law is 45 days, not business either) so I gave her my home address and waited. I got an email on June 16, 47 days after the lease ended, from ezlandlords.com (the same site she sent the lease to me from) saying she is keeping my entire deposit, all $725 of it. ($525 for deposit and $200 for pet deposit). And these are screenshots of the table and summary of 'reasons':

Table:

Summary: