Legal Junkies Forums

#1 Community for Legal Questions and Answers

Go Back   Legal Junkies Forums > REAL ESTATE and PROPERTY LAW > Landlord vs Tenant Issues

Register FAQ Tags Members List Social Groups Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Layout

Notices

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-23-2012, 10:09 AM   #1
n89b

Default Suing Landlord in small claims court for excessive damage claims

Hey guys, I reside in FL and have an issue with my previous LL in regards to what I believe are excessive claims for damages to the apartment.

This is my first time renting an apartment and I will admit it wasn't in the best of shape after I left due to roommates and a couple other issues we had there. I received a letter recently from the previous LL for damages to the apartment totalling $2600.

My security deposit for this apartment was only $200 but he is holding that towards the payment of the damages so it says that I only owe $2400. There are numerous charges for a bunch of things so I won't go over them in detail but they range from touching up of paint in the apartment which I was charged $614 for to replacing "missing" sink strainers for $35 and replacing 2 door locks for $65 each. I was also charged $500 to replace the carpet on my stairs for heavy stains and tracking which I do no believe that it had..